Bad to the Bone

I had my first treatment yesterday. I was pretty anxious and had a few mini breakdowns, but it all went ok.

Word to you all… it hurts like a sonofabitch to get your bone marrow taken no matter how much they numb you. Although I do usually need more numbing agents than most so I don’t feel the pain, but still… OUCH.

After they took the bone marrow, we were brought to a little “private room” which is really just a cubicle with your own TV and you can pull a curtain around you if you want. Jay watched ESPN and I was on my computer most of the time. Accessing the port barely hurt (thank goodness). The nurse set up my IV and first gave me saline and two anti-nausea drugs. After that she “pushed”, which means hand injected, this red drug into my IV (fun fact: it makes you pee pink for a bit), then she pushed another drug. I can’t remember if they pushed one more or if the last two were put in the IV bag and dripped in.

So I feel ok for now. Not 100%. I woke up at 2:30 and didn’t get back to sleep till 5:30 (they said one of the steroids they gave me may cause insomnia).

I’m at work and am going to try to get as much done as possible because apparently it’s common for your days to go like this:

Treatment day: Fine; Day after: Fine; 2 days after: CRAP; 3 days after: CRAP; 4 days after: Fine

Oh, another fun fact: My memory of yesterday afternoon is fuzzy. Apparently I had a phone conversation that I don’t really remember. I thought pregnancy brain was bad… YIKES!

We’ll see how it goes!

Standard

6 thoughts on “Bad to the Bone

  1. jenna says:

    what do they do to your bone marrow?
    and i can’t believe you are still working, please take care of yourself! ❤ you!

      • jenna says:

        well, that’s scary. praying for good results and sending all my ju-ju your way! i’m on the bone marrow match registry if you need any! 🙂

  2. mariehelenebertino says:

    YOU are bad to the bone, dear. I cannot believe how strong and funny you are. I am cheering for good bone marrow results, and that they never have to take it from you again! Go, Beth, go! Also, on the bad days, I hope you have lots of Reese Witherspoon movies queued up. Love you!!! xoxo

  3. Cheryl says:

    I’m saying a special prayer for you, Beth, that those CRAP days are only mildly crappy and a good excuse to TAKE OFF WORK and put your feet up. You certainly deserve that! Take care of you!! Love,Cheryl

Leave a Reply

