2b or not 2b?

Hello all!

Yesterday, I had my 4th chemo treatment (technically 2b). It was a yucky day outside and my appointment was at 1, but I had to wait for my labs again, so I didn’t get out of there until 5. HOWEVER… my doctor was very happy with my progress and I got a private cube, so it all balances out.

I thought I would give you all a mini-lesson on ports. The port is where they hook up the IV so they don’t have to access a new vein every time they want to give me medicine or take blood. It’s very convenient and it’s just a pin prick of pain when they access it.

Below is the one I have (or very close to it). You can feel it under my skin if you press on it. I had thought you might be able to see it through my skin, but you can’t, so here you go.

Image

The nurse sticks the needle through the center and that is where they plug me in. If you look close at the picture below, you can see the bump of the cather going into the vein in my neck and it runs down to the plug. There is a tube that is connected to the plug and it is all kept in place by the Tegaderm film. 

Image

So that’s me every two weeks.

At some point in the next two weeks, I have to get another round of echocardiogram and pulmonary function tests done to see if any damage has been done to my heart or lungs from the chemo. I also have to get another PET scan to see how I am responding to the chemo. I hope the results are good!

Enjoy the beautiful spring weather!

Standard

4 thoughts on “2b or not 2b?

  1. Melanie says:

    You are a brave chicky! And you are totally rocking the hat! 🙂 Fingers are crossed for great results! xo

Leave a Reply

