You win some. You lose some.

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since my last update. Lots of tests were taken and I passed them all (mostly) with flying colors.

The results of my pulmonary function test are in and so far so good. My lungs are pretty much the same as they were before treatment so the chemo is not having a negative affect on them as of yet. YAY! Not sure what the echocardiogram showed, but I’m confident they are fine as well since that is usually a long-term side effect anyway.

My PET scan came back VERY encouraging with one “bugaboo”, as my doctor put it (Boy, they like fun little expressions don’t they?). All the nodes have shrunk significantly or are gone, which means the chemo is working. The only one giving us any issues is the bulky one in my sternum. It was originally measured at 9 cm and has only shrunk down to 8 cm. However, it is not as “hot” anymore. This means that when the PET scan lights up the cancer cells, it’s not as bright as it was initially. Basically, what’s going on (as I understand it) is that the cancer cells are all tied up with the scar tissue cells, so the scar tissue isn’t shrinking (as they predicted), but the cancer cells within are getting weaker. Unfortunately, even though it’s working, my doctor thinks I should have 2 more months of chemo than originally planned. So that means I’ll be getting chemo until the END of summer and then getting radiation.

It’s definitely disappointing, but as long as the cancer is all gone, it’s worth it so I don’t have to do this again.

As for how I am feeling… this was a crappy weekend for me. I felt nauseated pretty much the entire time. I missed seeing visiting friends, which made me mad, but what can you do? No one said cancer was fun or fair. My mom and my sister had the kids so they had a fun weekend at least!

ImageImageImageImage

Oh well, onward and upward. I’ll make up for it next weekend somehow.

Take care everyone!!!

Standard

3 thoughts on “You win some. You lose some.

  1. Bette McTamney says:

    Prayers and thoughts always, Mike and I think of you a lot and admire you Beth, you are amazing. Your strengths and courage will kick this for sure! Xoxo love ya!

  2. mariehelenebertino says:

    Sounds like you need some good old fashioned pampering. Hope Jay is pampering the hell out of you, dear! Love and hugs to you. xoxo

  3. jenna says:

    sounds like still good news – just gonna need to keep at this a little longer than planned. i’m definitely sorry to hear that, but glad to hear things are going in the right direction and your doc is pleased with your progress. pj and i thinking of you and missing you!! thanks for the update ❤

Leave a Reply

